Thursday, November 21, 2013

Cornell Headed to ESPN 2014 Charleston (S.C.) Classic

Six of eight teams named for 2014 Charleston Classic presented by Gildan November 21, 2013

The Charleston Classic presented by Gildan announced six of the eight-team field for the 2014 tournament to be held Thursday, Friday and Sunday, Nov. 20, 21 and 23, at TD Arena in Charleston, S.C. The teams participating in the seventh annual event include Akron, Cornell, Miami (Fla.), Penn State, South Carolina and Southern California. The final two teams will be announced at a later date.
Miami (Fla.), Penn State and South Carolina are each making their second appearance in the Charleston Classic. Miami defeated South Carolina to win the 2009 Charleston Classic. The 2014 Charleston Classic will feature a bracket format with 12 games over three days. Each team will compete in one game per day, advancing through the bracket. The two teams that remain undefeated throughout will face off in a championship game on the final day of competition.
Past winners of the Charleston Classic are Colorado (2012), Northwestern (2011), Georgetown (2010), Miami (Fla.) (2009) and Clemson (2008). The 2013 Champion will be crowned on Sunday, Nov. 24 at 9:00 pm ET on ESPN2. This family-friendly tournament offers the teams a week of practice, play and experiences in and around historic Charleston.
Additional information, including travel packages, can be found on the Charleston Classic site at
The Charleston Classic is owned and operated by ESPN Regional Television (ERT), a subsidiary of ESPN.
While many of the early season exempt-tournaments are just tipping off, Penn State announced today their exempt plans for the 2014-2015 season. The Lions are one of six inked participants in next year's 2014 Charleston Classic, returning to the ESPN event for the second time in its history. The Lions traveled to the 2009 edition of the classic where they went just 1-2 in their 3 games, losing ugly to UNC-Wilmington and Tulane, while barely getting past Davidson.

Other teams in the field that were announced include South Carolina, Southern California, Miami FL, Cornell, and Akron. Noticeably absent are any teams from the Big East, American Athletic Conference, or the Big 12, but at least one of the remaining two teams will come from the Southern Conference, who is the host league for the event that is held at the College of Charleston's TD Arena.

The Lions will get three games out of the event over a four-day span, which runs from November 20-23, 2014. The 8-team, bracket-style tournament will feature games on Thursday and Friday with the final round occurring on Sunday. For reference, here is the bracket for this week's tourney.

NCAA scheduling rules allow up to 4 games to be played as part of the event, so there could be a potential campus-site game before the tournament, much like this year's Oklahoma State-Memphis game just a few days ago. Both of those teams will be participating next week in ESPN's Old Spice Classic.

Not much of the 2014 non-conference schedule has been announced yet, as many home-and-home series just wrapped up including La Salle and Penn. The Lions are slated to visit Bucknell in the last game of their 2-for-1 series, while they will also have a matchup in the Big Ten/ACC challenge again. Duquesne was a 4-game series, so the Dukes will also be the on schedule. Outside of that, look for the Lions to continue to add PA teams as Chambers tries to market his program across the region.

No comments: